AVIS

Photo of a common flicker by Thomas Ruedas ~ Wikimedia Commons

 

  

 One sunny    

but    

cold morning    

a wonder appeared    

before my very eyes    

A BIRD    

as pure as    

immaculate snow    

     

He walked gracefully    

Then he stopped    

He remained still    

for a while    

so that    

I could admire    

his distinct profile    

     

I could have captured    

his pure essence    

with a pen on paper    

but I decided    

to watch him instead,    

and remember    

     

For I was    

SAD    

that very morning    

very close    

to mourning

15 Responses

  1. this is heavenly beautiful,
    love the beauty and livelihood on nature…

    elegant post!
    😉

    • Thank you!

  2. glad he came along to share a smile with you. wonderful words…

    • Thank you! 🙂

  3. Flickers make me happy, usually, but I know what it’s like to be alone in nature, and you have captured that feeling perfectly

    • Flickers are very shy, so getting a up-close look at the beautiful bird was wonderful!

  4. hi friend, william here from jingles rally, excellent poem friend, loved the imagery, well constructed, bravo..my poem is up 🙂

    • Thank you! I will read your poetry.

  5. awww…that was sweet…
    endearing one it was…
    seems like your thoughts are poetic too 🙂
    loved it.. and pic was really good 🙂
    i just dropped in from Jingle’s blog
    you could check out my Thursday Rally poem too..
    http://megzone.wordpress.com

    • Thanks! I will check out your poem…

  6. Hi Alina! I just stopped by and caught your latest poem. Have you read much of Mary Oliver? This reminds me of her work (Red Bird is a good collection to start with, if you’re interested).

    You caught a moment, here. Thanks for sharing it with all of us! Keep up the good work! 🙂

    • No, I have not read Mary Oliver’s poetry, but thank you for recommending it to me, and thank you for commenting on my poem.

  7. beautiful…i was there with you. i almost mourned your loss after reading this. ;^)

    I would like to offer you the Sunshine & Fabulous Blog Awards. Would you please go to my site to get the images.

    ~IS

    • Thank you.

  8. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/02/18/the-14th-sunshine-award/

    an award 4 u,
    hope that u enjoy it and share with your new friends.

    😉
    thank u for shining in poetry!
    xx

Comments?

